The Garden Media Guild - professional garden communication at its best

The Garden Media Guild Online Media Awards 2010

The Garden Media Guild Awards celebrate the best in garden writing - including books, newspapers and magazines - photography, broadcasting - TV and radio - and new media - including gardening websites and gardening blogs. They are the garden media 'Oscars'.


Online Media Awards

Sponsored by JLM Global Foods

JLM Global Foods logo



Website of the Year; Award accepted by Corinne JuliusWebsite of the Year

Winner: edited by Anne Wareham.

Judges' comments: The judges loved the fresh idea behind this website, which gives access to some of the best gardening writing around. Its design is simple and easily navigated and the content avoids being elitist while being great entertainment and delightfully provocative. It’s definitely now in our ‘favourites’!

Finalists: edited by Ann Kelly and Zoe Behagg. edited by Jane Southcott. edited by Mike Saunders & team. edited by Nicola Gammon.


Blog of the YearBlog of the Year

Winner: Lia Leendertz for Midnight brambling blog.

Judges' comments: Engaging, charming and funny, this blog manages to tell its story in such a way that leaves us wanting to read the next installment. Based on its writer’s own gardening experiences, it manages to be well written and personable, yet not self-absorbed. It also has some fantastic take-away ideas that you want to try out immediately.


James Alexander-Sinclair for Blogging from Blackpitts.

Matthew Appleby for Horticulture Week online.

Mark Diacono for Otter Farm Blog.

Dawn Isaac for Little Green Fingers.


The Garden Media Guild is a member of the Creators' Rights Alliance