Please Login

Enter your username and password below.


Are You Sure?

Yes please sign me out ×
GMG Awards Logo

The Garden Media Guild Awards 2019: Categories

Deadline for entries: midnight on Tuesday, September 17

Entry Forms

How to Enter

Below is the list of all Awards categories.

1 The Peter Seabrook Practical Book of the Year Award

For the practical book that covers the nuts and bolts of a particular aspect of gardening or group of plants including helpful tips, proven methods and well-explained, clear advice.
Sponsored by The Garden Press Event

2 Garden Book of the Year

For a garden or gardening book that includes factual information and is not necessarily read all the way through – such as monographs, encyclopaedias and directories – or a book that inspires the gardener to something new, whether that’s travel tales, biographies, diaries, stories or beautiful ‘coffee table’ tomes.

3 Garden Publication or Garden Section of the Year

For the best national or regional gardening magazine, gardening section of a newspaper or supplement or gardening section of a general interest magazine, with a foundation of outstanding editorial and design and a sure understanding of the needs of its audience.
Sponsored by Westland Horticulture

4 The Dr David Hessayon Garden Columnist of the Year Award

For the writer of a regular column, whatever the channel, that leads opinion and captivates the reader with imagination, flair and high quality writing in a style appropriate to the audience.
Spomsored by Vitax

5 News Journalist of the Year

For the writer of gardening news stories in any print or online publication that get to the heart of the subject, allow the reader to quickly grasp the facts and have an impact in their market and beyond.
Sponsored by Briggs & Stratton

6 Practical Journalist of the Year

For the journalist who is able to convey practical horticultural techniques clearly and accurately, keep seasonal content fresh and engage readers so much they rush straight into their garden to give it a try.
Sponsored by Thompson & Morgan

7 Journalist of the Year

For the journalist who regularly produces memorable, distinct and original writing that entertains, avoids cliché, breaks new ground and is relevant to the reader, working in any gardening publication, in print or online.
Sponsored by Viking Cruises

8 The Beth Chatto Environmental Award

This award is open to any writer, blogger, podcaster, vlogger or broadcaster who brings widespread attention to a pressing horticultural or gardening issue which relates to the environment. While the winner may not be the first person to focus on a particular subject, their work is so inspiring, informative and entertaining that it promotes a positive change amongst gardeners in their attitude towards sustainable gardening and the environment.
Sponsored by Beth Chatto Education Trust

9 The Gordon Rae Photographer of the Year Award

For the photographer of a diverse portfolio of images that celebrate current standards of excellence in professional garden photography and stand out for their skill and brilliance.
Sponsored by Candide

10 Features Photographer of the Year

For a photographer who best illustrates editorial features, producing themed portfolios that capture their subjects so effectively, captions are barely necessary because the story has been brought to life.

11 The Roy Lancaster TV Broadcast of the Year Award

For the best national or regional gardening broadcast of three minutes or more, including 'red button' broadcast and YouTube or online broadcasts. It may be a freestanding item or form part of another programme or series, but it will be topical, interesting and horticulturally accurate.
Sponsored by Horticultural Trades Association 

12 Radio Broadcast or Podcast of the Year

For the best national or regional radio gardening broadcast or podcast that keeps its listeners tuned in until the end, entertaining, informing and inspiring in equal measure.
Sponsored by Evergreen

13 The Alan Titchmarsh New Talent Award

For the person that has made brilliant first steps in the world of garden media, demonstrating talent and potential in his or her field. Their career is on a steeply upward trajectory!
Sponsored by Hayloft Plants

14 Blog or Vlog of the Year

For the best blog or vlog that showcases excellent and engaging content. Its writing or video is entertaining and friendly, thought-provoking and informative and gives its readers a real sense of the human behind it and their personality.
Sponsored by Mr Fothergill's

15 Website of the Year

For the website that demonstrates creativity and innovation, impact in its marketplace and horticulturally accurate, informative and relevant content, as well as the stats to back it up.
Sponsored by Honda

16 Social Media Influencer of the Year

This award recognises those who are using social media to communicate about gardening in exciting and innovative ways and is open to any individual, agency, company, brand or organisation, effectively using social media platforms.
Sponsored by Stihl

17 Cover of the Year

This award is open to all printed magazine and gardening books originating in the UK and written in English. The judges are looking for a cover that is eye-catching, brilliantly conceived and stands out from the rest.
Sponsored by 

18 Lifetime Achievement Award

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution throughout their lifetime to the profession, voted for by Garden Media Guild members and gifted by the GMG Committee.
Sponsored by Westland Horticulture

The previous winners are:

1993 Peter Seabrook
1994 Fred Whitsey
1995 Graham Stuart-Thomas
1996 Rosemary Verey
1997 Christopher Lloyd
1998 Beth Chatto
1999 Penelope Hobhouse
2000 Geoff Amos
2001 Jerry Harpur
2002 Roy Lancaster
2003 Joy Larkcom
2004 Alan Titchmarsh
2005 Dr David Hessayon
2006 Geoffrey Smith
2007 Ken Muir
2008 Michael Warren
2009 Peter Beales
2010 Andrew Lawson
2011 John Brookes & Nigel Colborn
2012 Jekka McVicar
2013 Stefan Buczacki
2014 Christopher Brickell
2015 Adrian Bloom
2016 Jim McColl
2017 Richard Jackson
2018 Gary Rogers

Thank you to our sponsors

  • Westland Horticulture Headline Sponsor