Skip to main content
Award Categories

Image Caption

The Garden Media Guild Awards 2023: Categories 

1 The Peter Seabrook Practical Book of the Year

For the practical book that focuses on the nuts and bolts of a particular aspect of gardening or group of plants including helpful tips, proven methods and well explained, clear advice.
Sponsored by

2 Garden Book of the Year 

This award is for any gardening-themed book that includes factual information, such as an encyclopaedia, a biography, a diary or a beautiful ‘coffee table’ book.
Sponsored by

3 Garden Publication of the Year

For the best national or regional gardening magazine or supplement of a general interest magazine, with a foundation of outstanding editorial and design and a sure understanding of the needs of its audience.
Sponsored by

4 The Dr David Hessayon Garden Writer of the Year

For the gardening writer, either with a regular column or writing across several different media, that leads opinion and captivates the reader with imagination, flair and high quality writing in a style appropriate to the audience.

5 Practical Journalist of the Year

For the journalist who can convey practical horticultural techniques clearly and accurately and engages readers so much that they want to rush straight into their garden to give it a try.
Sponsored by

6 The Beth Chatto Environmental Award

This award is named for one of the most influential gardeners of the past century, whose writing and style of gardening changed the way we think about our gardens, and is sponsored by the educational trust that is committed to continuing her work. It is open to any writer, author, blogger, podcaster, vlogger, broadcaster, photographer or social media influencer who creates inspiring, informative or entertaining work about an environmental issue in gardening. 
Sponsored by

7 The Gordon Rae Photographer of the Year

For the photographer with a diverse portfolio of 12 images that have been published or in the public domain that celebrates current standards of excellence in professional garden photography and stands out for its skill and brilliance.

8 Features Photographer of the Year

This award is for the photographer who best illustrates published editorial features, producing themed portfolios that capture their subjects so effectively that captions are barely necessary.
Sponsored by

9 Portfolio Photographer of the Year

This photography award allows the photographer the freedom to put together a portfolio of garden related photographs, that do not need to have been published, following a theme of their choice.

10 The Roy Lancaster Broadcast of the Year

For the best national or regional gardening TV broadcast of three minutes or more, including 'red button' broadcast. It may be a freestanding item or form part of another programme or series, but it will be topical, interesting and horticulturally accurate.

11 Radio Broadcast or Podcast of the Year

For the best national or regional radio gardening broadcast or podcast that keeps its listeners tuned in until the end and entertains, informs and inspires in equal measure.
Sponsored by

12 The Alan Titchmarsh New Talent of the Year

For the person that has made outstanding first steps in the world of garden media, demonstrating talent and potential in his or her field. 
Sponsored by

13 Garden Video of the Year

For the best video of three minutes or more on YouTube, Vimeo, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok or other online media sharing platforms. It should inspire, educate and/or inform the viewer on any aspect of gardening, generating high quality feedback and comments from viewers
Sponsored by

14 Digital Gardening Writer of the Year

For inspiring, informative or educational writing about gardening on blogs, newsletters (including Substack) and online sections of the gardening press. 
Sponsored by

15 Individual Social Media Influencer of the Year

For the communicator who inspires, educates or informs followers about gardening by posting regularly on one or more platforms (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Tiktok or others), generating an engaged following, replying to questions and comments and interacting with followers.
Sponsored by

16 Brand Social Media Influencer of the Year

For the company, media outlet (eg magazine/newspaper) or charity that has grown their reputation for their gardening knowledge and expertise via social media channels. These include Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Tiktok, blogging, podcasting, YouTube or other platforms. The Brand Social Media Influencer of the Year inspires, informs or educates people about gardening, beyond the use of their own products or publicity for their brand. Posts generate an engaged and interactive following as well as raising awareness for the brand, media outlet or charity.
Sponsored by

17 Outstanding Contribution Award

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution over a number of years to our profession. This award is in the gift of the GMG Committee.
Sponsored by

The previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are:

1993 Peter Seabrook; 1994 Fred Whitsey; 1995 Graham Stuart-Thomas; 1996 Rosemary Verey; 1997 Christopher Lloyd; 1998 Beth Chatto; 1999 Penelope Hobhouse; 2000 Geoff Amos; 2001 Jerry Harpur; 2002 Roy Lancaster; 2003 Joy Larkcom; 2004 Alan Titchmarsh; 2005 Dr David Hessayon; 2006 Geoffrey Smith; 2007 Ken Muir; 2008 Michael Warren
2009 Peter Beales; 2010 Andrew Lawson; 2011 John Brookes & Nigel Colborn; 2012 Jekka McVicar; 2013 Stefan Buczacki; 2014 Christopher Brickell; 2015 Adrian Bloom; 2016 Jim McColl; 2017 Richard Jackson; 2018 Gary Rogers; 2019 Carol Klein; 2020 Anna Pavord; 2021 Graham Rice; 2022 Michael Marriott




gmg Member discounts

Become a GMG member